Facebook Pixel
HKQ Facebook PageHKQ's LinkedIn Page HKQ Law Firm You Tube Channel HKQ Scranton & Wilkes Barre PA Law Firm Home Page

Taken from Lackawanna Pro Bono News, Spring 2003 issue:


At the Lackawanna Bar Association's annual meeting in January, Judge Trish Corbett presented Attorneys Cynthia Banks and Richard S. Bishop and the Powell Law firm with the 2003 Equal Access to Justice Awards. The awards are conferred annually by the Lackawanna Bar Association and the Lackawanna Pro Bono, Inc. For outstanding commitment to the pro bono representation.

Powell Law, the first firm to be recognized with the Equal Access to Justice Award, was chosen for the honor because it had the distinction of 100 per cent pro bono participation in the year 2002. Each of the firm's five attorneys, James j. Powell iii, Mark J. Powell, Bruce S. Zero, Christopher T. Powell, Jr., and Christopher Osborne, accepted at least one pro bono referral last year. A family run firm founded in 1906, Powell Law Handles primarily personal injury, workers compensation and criminal defense work.

Cynthia Banks is a litigation associate with Marshall, Dennehey, Warner, Cloeman & Goggin, handling primarily insurance defense. She is a graduate of the Santa Clara University School of Law and is licensed to practice law in both Pennsylvania and California.

Richard S. Bishop is a partner in the firm of Hourigan, Kluger & Quinn. His practice emphasizes commercial law, real estate and estate planning. A graduate of Penn State University and the Temple University School of Law, he is a board member of the Lackawanna Bar Association, President of the Glen Oak Country Club, and Regional President, Mid-Atlantic Region United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism.

Past recipients of the Equal Access to Justice Award include attorneys Ann Lavelle Powell, Daniel Morgan, Richard Fanucci, Brian Nixon, Susan Luckenbill, Joseph Campolieto, and Joseph A. O'Brien.